The Girl Who Played With Fire by Stieg Larsson

27 03 2012

Rating: 2/5, Way too long…again!

Genre: Thriller/Suspense/Mystery

Its Supergirl, Its Wonderwoman…..No Its Lisbeth Salander
Three words….way too long! Three more…why, why, why! And another three…not too bad.
I have read some really long books in my lifetime but this one takes the cake. As I said for the Dragon book, there’s just too much unnecessary information. But this time around I was smart and I just skipped words and lines and even paragraphs at times. I knew what to skip and what to read. That’s how I managed to finish a 600 odd paged book in no time without missing out on anything!

The storyline this time was more intriguing and the pace a bit faster (only after the first 200 or so pages though). It was also a bit more focussed without digressing too much. But then again, so many characters and names. I sometimes had to stop and think, who was who. Maybe it’s because I’m not used to all these Swedish names, mostly having read British or American (and of course Indian) authors all my life.
As for the lead character, which was Lisbeth Salander, quite interesting but a bit larger than life. And I could have done with a bit more of Blomkvist’s role in the whole thing.

I feel Larsson is capable of churning out a much better written novel. But it seems to me like he feels that writing a good story is not enough. He has to show everyone how knowledgeable, intelligent and well read  he is by including it in one way or the other in his stories, be it politics, technology, or even algebra. Even that wouldn’t be a problem were it woven into the story well and had some relevance.

All in all a good book from an adventure thriller viewpoint. But I must say I’m not in a rush to read the third book, it can wait.

You can also check out the review of the first book of this Millenium Trilogy:

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo - Stieg Larsson

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

