The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

17 03 2012

Rating: 2/5, Way too long!

Genre: Thriller/Suspense/Mystery

The Tattoo Had Nothing To Do With It
The first of the Millenium Trilogy, I picked it up because I love tattoos! Just kidding, had heard rave reviews and you can’t resist that, right?

Well, the book started off a bit tough, the first few pages full of some financial business like jargon. I tried my best to focus and understand everything in case its needed further on in the book. Guess what, might as well have just skipped those pages. All that description was quite unnecessary. In fact, the book had quite a lot of descriptive passages which it could have done without. It would have made it a lot more racy and wouldn’t tire you out.

Larsson spent a lot of time on the first 3 quarters of the story and the last bit was kind of rushed. The suspense became a bit too obvious towards the end…somehow, I wasn’t quite satisfied with the mystery that was solved. Maybe the psychotic, violent sex angle is not my cup of tea, not that I was expecting a Sherlock Holmes kind of mystery. There could have been more mystery to the mystery!.

But it’s not all that bad. It’s got some things working for it, lots of interesting characters, stories within stories (although they didn’t seem to have any connection whatsoever) and of course (creepy & perverse) sex. If that won’t sell, what will! I haven’t seen the movie yet, I feel it should be better than the book as it will be a crisper, concise and faster paced version.

And now to get on with The Girl Who Played With Fire and remember to filter out unnecessary info!

You can also check out the review of the second book of the trilogy:

The Girl Who Played With Fire - Stieg Larsson

The Girl Who Played With Fire

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 03 2012
mikereverb

I could have sworn I commented on this earlier today…

I completely agree with you concerning Larsson’s style: there was a lot of exposition, and a lot of “well, before I go on with my tale, I’ll need to explain some things to you first.” From out of the mouth of the characters!

I’m not exactly sure why I stood around for the end; usually I’d just shut the book and be done with it. But there must be some kind of alluring power behind the writing that could get me through the dryer parts.

Thanks for the review. 🙂

19 03 2012
illusionville

I agree with all that you have said. I am also wondering why I am reading the next book in the trilogy, must be that alluring power. What else does a writer need! Thanks for following.

Leave a Reply

