The Most Difficult Book In The World

16 03 2012

It is rare that I give up on a book. It might take me a few pages or chapters to really get into one but give up…never. Except for the one and only ‘Ulysses’!

What on earth was James Joyce thinking? Did he not have enough time to punctuate (considering it took 7 years to pen), did he skip grammar lessons at school or was he just plain lazy. He probably thought the editor would take care of things and guess what…he didn’t!
But seriously, it’s quite a task trying to figure out where a sentence starts or ends, who said what to whom and much more. As chaotic as the book may seem there is (apparently) some structure and order to the madness.
Some say the most interesting chapter is the last one with no punctuation whatsoever. Maybe one should read it backwards, last chapter first.

I truly admire the brave souls who have actually finished Ulysses and understood it to top it all!

This is one book I don’t see myself writing a review on for quite some time to come although I will make another attempt to conquer it. Simply because the deadly combination of a mile long novel about one single day combined with unimaginable literary liberties is a challenge in itself to self-proclaimed book lovers like myself. Wish me luck!

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 03 2012
Cassie

I’ve never even tried to read this because I thought I would gouge my eyes out. I know I should, I just can’t do it. The same with Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel.

16 03 2012
illusionville

If I’m able to make it through Ulysses I will surely move on to Wolf Hall as you have mentioned, didnt know about it. Thanks for the ref.

Leave a Reply

